Casa de Campo Living

Casa de Campo Tennis champions – Pedro Nolasco, Mirtha Marchena & Antonio Esteban!

This post is also available in: Spanish

cdc tennisFrom Thursday 28th to Sunday 31st of August at the La Terraza Tennis Club, Casa de Campo’s most successful and indeed the Dominican Republic’s longest running tennis tournament was played – the 37th annual edition of the Casa de Campo International Tennis Tournament. 

This year the event was made extra special by the triumph of three beloved members of our Casa de Campo community! Congratulations to Pedro Nolasco, Mirtha Marchena and Antonio Esteban!

Pedro Nolasco, a player at the La Terraza Tennis Club, and one of the Dominican Republic’s top tennis players was proclaimed the winner in the Open category.  Nolasco who last year was defeated in the finals by the former champion, Andres Bernal, on this occasion prevailed in the finals to take home the “Gran Copa” trophy. In recent years, Pedro Nolasco has been considered one of Casa de Campo’s top tennis players – having won most of the competitions in which he has participated. This year he was also crowned champion of the 9th annual McDaniel Tennis Tournament.

Juan Velásquez & Daniel Hernández
cdc tennis

cdc tennisOn the other hand, Mirtha Marchena, a passionate member of the La Terraza Tennis Club was crowned the Singles Female Champion (category C-1), who thrilled with her success took to Facebook to express her excitement and thanks… “This weekend I learnt many things, but above all that success in life is not about what you achieve but rather about the obstacles you overcome. Thank you to my friends and to my family for their unconditional support, as well as to my fellow players!”

But Mirtha’s success didn’t end there – she was also crowned the runner-up of the Mixed Doubles playing with Persio Maldonado.

Finally, and last but certainly not least we have Antonio Esteban! The legendary Casa de Campo villa owner has been playing in the International Casa de Campo Tennis Tournament since it started in 1978 and this year was crowned the doubles category C-2 40 champion! At the prize-giving while Antonio was receiving his trophy he took the opportunity to present the ball boys with new backpacks to start the new school with, what a wonderful gesture!

Emilio Vásquez, Dolly Esteban and Antonio Esteban alongside the boleritos
cdc tennis

The 37th Casa de Campo Tennis Tournament also known as the Wimbledon of the Caribbean, was this year played in honor of Ramón and Luchy Méndez, who had the idea to create the event back in 1978.

cdc tennis

Taking part in the prize-giving ceremony, which took place on Sunday August 31st was Daniel Hernández, manager of the Casa de Campo hotel, Emilio Vásquez, Casa de Campo director of tennis, Juan José Arteaga and Juan Velásquez who gave out the trophies.

The following collection of photos were taken during the prize-giving ceremony of the 37th annual Casa de Campo Tennis Tournament at the La Terraza Tennis Club in Casa de Campo: 

37th Casa de Campo Tennis Tournament: Results

Singles – Female

Champion: Mirtha Marchena
Runner-up: Deyanira Castillo

Champion: Lisa Baldrich

C-3, 21 – 39 
Champion: Mónica Falgueras

Doubles – Female

Champion: Donna Shea & idarmis Cucurullo
Runner-up: Miguelina Peguero & Esther Peñaló

Champion: Yolanda Luciano y Yadira Gerena

Singles – Male

Champion: Pedro Nolasco
Runner-up: Andrés Bernal

C-1 40
Champion: Iván Saldivia
Runner-up: Cristofer Mailet

C-2 60
Champion: Lorenzo Bobea
Runner-up: Orlando Lugo

C-3, 40
Champion: Danilo Pérez
Runner-up: John Tamayo

Champion: José Avila

Doubles – Male

Champion: Francisco Concepción & José Zapata
Runner-up: José Alberto & José Santiago

C-1 40
Champion: Tomasso Cutri & Diego Hurtado

C-2 40
Champion: Antonio Esteban & Antonio Botello

C-2 60
Champion: José Roque & Nicolás Rizik

C-3, 21 – 39 
Champion: Michael Alfaro & José de Moya

Doubles – Mix

Champion: Massimo Ganatiempo & Warland Jiménez

Champion: Raffy Lantigua & Jennifer Lantigua

To Top