The Ministry of Labor announced the dates corresponding to the national holidays of the year 2023, in compliance with Law 139-97, which establishes the transfer of holidays.

Law No. 139-97, dated June 19, 1997, on transfers for Mondays of holidays that coincide with Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, or Fridays, was published in the Official Gazette No. 9957, dated June 25, 1997, and is implemented since the 27th of the same month and year, therefore, in accordance with the provisions of our legislation, it must be applied in all establishments in the country.

Accordingly, holidays will be applied as follows:

  • Sunday, January 1, the date of the New Year’s celebration, is not changed.
  • On Friday, January 6, Three Kings’ Day, work is done and it is changed to Monday, January 9.
  • Saturday, January 21, the Day of Our Lady of Altagracia, is not changed.
  • On Thursday, January 26, the date on which the birth of Juan Pablo Duarte is commemorated, work is carried out and it is changed to Monday, January 30.
  • While on Monday, February 27, National Independence Day, it is immovable.
  • Good Friday, on Friday, April 7, is also immovable, a religious holiday that commemorates the death of Jesus Christ.
  • Likewise, Monday, May 1, Labor Day, is not changed.
  • Thursday, June 8, the day on which the religious festival of Corpus Christi is celebrated, is not changed.
  • Similarly, on Wednesday, August 16, the Day of the Restoration of the Republic, in accordance with Article 35 of the Constitution and Judgment No. 14 of 02/20/2008 of the Supreme Court of Justice, it is not changed.
  • On Sunday, September 24, the Day of Our Lady of Mercy, it is not changed.
  • Monday, November 6, Constitution Day, is not changed.
  • Monday, December 25, Christmas Day, or the birth of Jesus, is not changed.

*Information from the website of the Ministerio de Trabajo