Events and Activities

Casa de Campo celebrates 40th annual International Pro-Am

golf casa de campo

This post is also available in: Spanish

golf casa de campoThe Casa de Campo resort and Casa de Campo golf department proudly celebrated the 40th annual International Pro-Am golf tournament recently from the 13th to the 20th of January 2013.

The International Pro-Am is Casa de Campo’s longest running golf tournament – taking place for the first time in 1973, less than 2 years after Casa de Campo’s first Pete Dye designed golf course; the Teeth of the Dog was inaugurated on October 14th, 1971. Today the tournament is overseen by Casa de Campo Director of Golf, Gilles Gagnon, who with 32 years experience in the resort guarantees the players all have the times of their life!

Teeth of the Dog, hole #15, Casa de Campo
teeth of the dog

This year 68 golfers, started their Casa de Campo golf adventure with a welcome cocktail, followed by 4 days of tournament rounds played across Casa de Campo’s beautiful Pete Dye designed courses; Teeth of the Dog, Dye Fore and the Links and closed with a joyous awards ceremony and dinner at the Beach Club by Le Cirque.

The Casa de Campo “Pro-Am” series continues this week with the 30th annual Caribbean Pro-Am (January 27th – February 3rd) and in March the 26th Annual Caribbean International Pro-Am II, from the 3rd to the 10th.

Casa de Campo International Pro-Am: Results

golf casa de campo

Gross Champions:

Secession Golf Club
Mike Harmon
David Hathaway
Jimmy Rigsby
Charlie Wall

Net Champions:

New York City Physicians Golf Association
Richard Mueller
Sears Edwards
Robert Furey
Jim McGroarty

1st Flight Gross Winners:

Bayou DeSiard Country Club
Matthew Harvey
Dale Cagnolatti
Andy Mintz
Bill Walker

1st Flight Net Winners:

Belle Meade Country Club
Willie Gibbons
Steve Blackmon
Marshall Polk
B. J. Svedin

2nd Flight Gross Winners:

Hartford Golf Club
Joe Connerton
Rick Copeland
David Gordon
Buz Kohn

2nd Flight Net Winners:

Highland Country Club
Sean Mulligan
Ray LeBlanc
Randy Miller
Donald Oldmixon

Closest to the Pin

Teeth of the Dog #5: Dale Cagnolatti
Teeth of the Dog #7: Ted Friel
Teeth of the Dog #13: (Professionals): Adam Brown
Teeth of the Dog #16: Ted Friel

Professional Championship: Junior Division

Champion: Jack Hunter – TPC River’s Bend
Runner-up: Darren Goralski – Island Hills Country Club
3rd Place: John Spina – Philadelphia Cricket Club
4th Place: Matthew Harvey – Bayou DeSiard Country Club
5th Place: Mark Parisi – Hudson National Golf Club, Jim Smith, Jr. – Philadelphia Cricket Club

Professional Championship: Senior Division

Champions: Mike Harmon – Secession Golf Club, Bill Whaley – TPC River Highlands

golf casa de campo

Casa de Campo Golf

casa de campo teeth of the dog golf course

Casa de Campo’s first golf course, Pete Dye’s masterpiece, the Teeth of the Dog, was opened more than 40 years ago in 1971 thus beginning the transformation of Casa de Campo from a rural seaside retreat into a world-class golf destination, otherwise known as the “World’s Leading Golf Resort.”

Click here to read all about Casa de Campo’s world-class golfing facilities!

To Top