This post is also available in: Spanish

Last Saturday the 14th of May, the American Chamber for Commerce in the Dominican Republic (AMCHAMDR) celebrated it’s 12th annual Ambassador’s Cup Golf Tournament on Casa de Campo’s stunning Pete Dye designed Golf Course, the Teeth of the Dog.  120 golfers took part in the charity golf tournament, which was kicked off bright and early at 8am by the Honorary United States Ambassador of the Dominican Republic, Raul H. Yzaguirre, who took the honorary first putt and welcomed the golfers to the tournament. [CLICK HERE for photos of the lunch and awards ceremony]

Raul H. Yzaguirre takes the first putt

The tournament then began with an 8.30am shot gun start and was played in 2 person teams in a ‘scramble’ format, with players competing in 3 different categories to win one of the coveted AMCHAMDR trophies and also with the hope of winning a Ford Taurus, the prize for a hole in one donated by event sponsor Grupo Viamar. In the end the overall prize (and the biggest trophy) was won by Leo Perez and José Tomas Contreras – tournament results and photos of the prize-giving will be published on Friday of this week (May 20th).

Funds raised during the “XII Ambassador’s Cup 2011” will be used to benefit community development projects located in different parts of the country, as well as for strengthening the initiatives of the education program.

Here are my photos of the golfers playing on the Teeth of the Dog – CLICK HERE for photos of the lunch and awards ceremony which took place in the Casa de Campo Flamboyant conference centre! About AMCHAMDR The American Chamber of Commerce of the Dominican Republic is a non-profit organization that seeks to strengthen the development of trade ties between both countries through the strengthening of free enterprise, investment promotion, community service, improving government relations and international and service to its members. Founded on November 8, 1923 it has a membership of more than 2,700 businesses and professional firms in Santo Domingo and nine provincial offices.