ganadores amchamdr

This post is also available in: Spanish

On Saturday the 13th of April, 2013 Luis Garcia Perez Marion and Ruddy Landais became the winners of the 24th edition of the Charles T. Manatt Memorial Ambasssador´s Cup, hosted by the Amercican Chamber of Commerce in the Dominican Republic (AMCHAMDR) played on the Teeth of the Dog course at Casa de Campo. The winning couple finished with an impressive gross score of just 66 to take home the trophy. The tournament is an important fundraising activity for the AMCHAMDR, with funds raised to support their numerous social responsibility programs in the areas of community development and basic education. The 120 participants teed off around the Teeth of the Dog at 8am, and enjoyed an excellent morning of golf on the Caribbean’s #1 course! Amongst the players was Dan Manatt, son of the late Ambassador Charles Manatt, joined by many friends of the former Ambassador.

120 participants took part in the tournament

Another prizewinner was Fausto Conde who got a hole in one and won the $1 million peso prize sponsored by the Banco Federal! Speaking at the prize-giving event Fausto told his fellow competitors “I had another family event today, but I talked my wife into letting me come. When I called to tell her the great news – she told me to carry on enjoying the tournament!” His comments were met with cheers and applause as he collected his cheque presented by executive of the Banco Federal Emilio Hasbún. Prize-giving Ceremony Following a wonderful morning on the Teeth of the Dog, the golfers moved to the Larimar Conference Center, where Máximo Vidal, President of the AMCHAMDR, congratulated and thanked all the participants in a toast; “To all of you who competed to win the cup, with which we honor the memory of Ambassador Charles T. Manatt.” Ambassador Raul Yzaguirre, meanwhile, said the Ambassador’s Cup is “an excellent example of collaboration between the Chamber (the AMCHAMDR) and the Embassy, which goes beyond our agenda to promote free trade and investment between the two countries.”  

Danilo Díaz and José Contreras runners-up in the A division

In addition to gross winners Luis Garcia Perez Marion & Ruddy Landais, winners were also awarded in the net categories.
AMCHAMDR Golf Tournament Results The winners and results of the 24th annual AMCHAMDR golf tournament are as follows: Gross Champions: Luis Garcia Perez Marion & Ruddy Landais A Division Champions: Andrew Dilonex and Rafael Rodriguez Runners-up: Danilo Diaz and Jose Tomas Contreras Third place: Milvian de Soto and Roberto Castillo B Division  Champions: Osman Viloria and Luis Alvarez Runners-up: Euclid Reyes and Mario Torres Third place: Carlos Julio Morillo and Delvin Quezada C Division  Champions: Omar Faruk Elias and Jose Luis Montero Runners-up: Osvaldo Santana and Antonio Benitez Third place: Jorge Torres and Ramon Reyes
About AMCHAMDR The American Chamber of Commerce of the Dominican Republic is a non-profit organization that seeks to strengthen the development of trade ties between both countries through the strengthening of free enterprise, investment promotion, community service, improving government relations and international and service to its members. Founded on November 8, 1923 it has a membership of more than 2,700 businesses and professional firms in Santo Domingo and nine provincial offices.