Golf Casa de Campo La Romana - Bayahibe tournament

This post is also available in: Spanish

Golf Casa de Campo La Romana - Bayahibe tournamentWith a participation of more than 60 international golfers last Saturday the 16th of November, the 2nd annual La Romana – Bayahibe golf tournament sponsored by SILGON and Casa de Campo among others, was a great success. Golf Casa de Campo La Romana - Bayahibe tournamentWith the objective of promoting La Romana-Bayahibe as the premier golf destination of the Dominican Republic, and the entire Caribbean, the event raised funds for the La Romana – Bayahibe Tourism Cluster, whose mission is to continue to develop the destination as one of the best in the Dominican Republic. The event got started bright an early at the Teeth of the Dog driving range, where following breakfast at Casa de Campo’s the Lago Grill, the players gathered to watch the inaugural putt taken by Alfonso Paniagua, Vice President Administrator Costasur Dominicana alongside Daniel Hernandez, General Manager of the Casa de Campo Hotel and President of the La Romana – Bayahibe Hotels Association. The golfers then teed off shot gun at approximately 9am and played in Stroke Play Individual format. The sun shone brightly on the event, while the Links golf course, in superb condition was, as always, a pleasure to play (and photograph)! The tournament came to a close with a buffet lunch at the Lago Grill catered by Casa de Campo, followed by the prize-giving ceremony, which saw the tournament winners take home some very special prizes – flights donated by JetBlue and AirEuropa, as well as hotel stays in Bayahibe, Mexico and Curzao donated by Viva Wyndham Resorts Hotel, Be Live Hotels Hotel, Iberostar Hotels & Resorts and Am Resorts. Perhaps even more impressive was the raffle… which had so many prizes virtually everyone won something from bottles of wine and rum to excursions, hotel stays, flights and much more! A fantastic end to a fabulous event! Congratulations to the organisers and to everyone who took part!  

2nd annual La Romana – Bayahibe Golf Tournament

Gross Champion: Leo Perez (72) Net Champion: Milciades Ortíz (55) Category A 1st: Hector Then (66) 2nd: Victor Báez (71) 3rd: Freddy Sierra (72) Category B 1st: Sully Martinez (69) 2nd: Teodoro Reyes (65) 3rd: Antonio David Rey (66) Category C 1st: Juan Alberto Morel (65) 2nd: Angel Luis Peguero (67) 3rd: Joseph Pilier (67) Ladies 1st: Margarita Fantoni (67) 2nd: Margarita de Makovec (68) 3rd: Franchesca Páez (79)