Casa de Campo Resort

Casa de Campo celebrates the 4th Annual Latin America Pro-Am on the Teeth of the Dog

This post is also available in: Spanish

The 4th Annual Latin America Pro-Am golf tournament took place last week to play on the Teeth of the Dog from August 7-11th. Playing in Best Ball Net and Gross formats, twenty four teams, a new record for the event, composed of families and friends competed with others from countries throughout Latin America. Sunny skies held out for them as they rose early and appreciated the resort’s magnificent views on the green.

After a welcome dinner at La Casita restaurant, 115 golfers rose early to tee off on Casa de Campo’s most famous golf course, the Teeth of the Dog. Composed of one golf professional and four amateurs, teams embarked on the rigorous course with high spirits. The tournament played throughout the week, in the format of 1 Best Ball today, followed by 1 Best Ball Net and 1 Best Ball Gross – Thursday, and 2 Best Ball Net on Friday competing for the overall prizes, as well as 1st and 2nd place in each flight, while professionals faced each other in the professional flight category using Stableford Scoring.

Guests accompanying golfers were encouraged to enjoy Casa de Campo’s numerous attractions such as visits to Altos de Chavón, watersports at Minitas, and playing a game of tennis at La Terraza or clay shooting at the Shooting Center!

Rafael Guerrero Lauria earned 1st place with 126 points in the professional category for a second year in a row, while Julio Zapata came in 2nd with 121, and Luciano Giometti in 3rd with 114. The tournament’s Overall Champion team included golf pro, Armando Lopez Ron, Oscar Martin, Oscar Yoshinori M, José Luis Velazquez, and Arturo Rubio. See the breakdown of each winning team’s total scores and the gallery below of their celebratory awards ceremony at La Casita in La Marina.

The golf department extends a special thank you to everyone who played and made this year unforgettable as well as the many sponsors that made this event possible.


Overall Winners with 297 Strokes

  • Armando Lopez Ron
  • Oscar Martin
  • Oscar Yoshinori M.
  • Jose Luis Velazquez
  • Arturo Rubio

Marina Flight Winners with 299 Strokes

  • Francisco Bide
  • David Johnson
  • James Hardin
  • Calvin Stephenson
  • Brian Mikes

Chavon Flight Winners with 300 Strokes

  • Marco Ruiz
  • Michael John Williams
  • Michael Angelo Williams
  • Christian Storm
  • Adolfo Samaniego

Lagos Flight Winners with 298 Strokes

  • Teobaldo Perez
  • Rolando Nieves
  • Bill Swenson
  • Cesar Lopez
  • Adrian Rodriguez


1st place

  • Rafael Guerrero Lauria with 126 points

2nd place

  • Julio Zapata with 121 points

3rd place

  • Luciano Giometti with 114 points.

Closest to the Pin

  • Day #1 Arturo Rubio
  • Day #2 Juan Jose Merlo
  • Day #3 Matias Bruzoni

See more photos from the 4th Annual Latin America Pro-Am awards ceremony on Friday, August 10th taken by Dariana Soriano at La Casita:

To Top