J.Pepe Fanjul, Mason Berry Casa de Campo

This post is also available in: Spanish

J.Pepe Fanjul, Mason Berry Casa de Campo On Saturday evening the 25th of April, J.Pepe Fanjul with his wife Emilia hosted a wonderful dinner and prize-giving celebration at their Casa de Campo estate Casa Grande to mark the end of the 28th annual Sugar Shooting Tournament shot at the Casa de Campo Shooting Center and private wilderness reserve, Rancho Peligro. J.Pepe Fanjul, Emilia Fanjul, Casa de CampoWith the participation of over 40 outstanding shooters, this years event was outstanding from start to finish, and it was especially refreshing to see an increasing number of youngsters participating. The celebration started with cocktails and picaderas on the terrace overlooking the ocean, before the intimate group moved down to the dining area for a delicious buffet dinner. As the celebration came to an end, J.Pepe Fanjul along with Casa de Campo’s Director of Shooting, Gary Salmon took the spot light to reveal the winners of the various tournaments – an exciting moment as unlike with the Sugar Golf Tournament, the shooters had until this point no idea who had won. The annual Casa de Campo Sugar Shooting Tournament consists of numerous different shooting tournaments; Live Pigeon Shoot, the Colombaire and the Sporting Clays, as well as the European Style Driven Bird Shoot. And although the tournament presents prizes to the winners of each category there are also 2 trophies for the overall winners; the High Overall “GUBELMANN CUP” won this year by Lawrence Berry and the High Overall Cup won Mason Berry. Originally the Sugar Shooting Tournament only awarded trophies to the individual tournament winners, but the Gubelmann Cup, donated by Mr. James Gubelmann was star-according to Mr Gublemann- “to encourage people to do more than one event”, whilst the High Overall Cup was introduced in 2012 to include the European style Driven Bird Shoot, as well as all the other tournaments. The following collection of photos were taken by Wilfredo Alvarez on Saturday April 27th at Casa Grande during the closing event for the 28th annual Sugar Shooting Tournament: 
The winners of the 28th annual Casa de Campo Sugar Shooting Tournament were as follows: 100 SPORTING CLAYS:
  • Daniel Culnen (class AA)
  • Jaime Bonetti (class A)
  • Kyle Miller (class B)
  • Patricia Culnen (class C)
  • William Burkland (class D)
HANDICAP: Andres Fanjul Jr. (410 ga) 100 Flyers Race: Aiden Laseter COLOMBAIRE: Ralf Abendshein DRIVEN PHEASANT AND PARTRIDGE SHOOT “HIGH GUNS”: • Day 1: J.Pepe Fanjul • Day 2: James Gubelmann • Day 3: Philip Bonano • Day 4: Philip Sarofim HIGH OVERALL “GUBELMANN CUP”: Lawrence Berry HIGH OVERALL CUP: Mason Berry NOTES: • The High Overall “GUBELMANN CUP” is awarded to the shooter with the highest overall shooting score in the events based at the Casa de Campo Shooting Center (does not include the Driven Pheasant and Partridge Shoot at Rancho Peligro.) • The High Overall Cup is awarded to the shooter with the highest overall shooting score in ALL the events • Shooters cannot win more than one event