This post is also available in: Spanish

From Wednesday, April 20th to Saturday the 23rd, Alfy Fanjul hosted the 37th Annual Sugar Golf Tournament welcoming more than 300 special guest golfers from around the world who enjoyed various social events as well as participated in what has become a Casa tradition. This year the tournament was won once again by Crista Ryan and Maria Jose Oliva in the Ladies Championship and in the Men’s division by David Sierra and  Juan Carlos Mas.

Sugar Golf Tournament

Guests started arriving at the resort on Wednesday, April 20th. The players headed directly out to the green for some practice rounds, while their family members enjoyed the many resort amenities. The tournament has evolved in such a way that it is not just golf every day, but more! That same night, players spent a wonderful evening at the La Casita Restaurant enjoying the beautiful view, cool ocean breeze, cocktails, and time with friends during the welcome event hosted by IBI Yachts. The practice rounds continued on Thursday and tournament rounds on Friday and Saturday. Ladies teed off on the Dye Fore (Lakes/ Marina) as well as the Links, while gentlemen played on the Teeth of the Dog and the La Romana Country Club.

MIR Sugar Bazaar

While all Sugar golf tournament events are for golfers and their partners, one event open to the Casa de Campo community and visitors is the MIR Bazaar. The MIR Bazaar is a fabulous opportunity to shop and raise money for a great cause and was open to the public at the La Romana Country Club from Thursday, April 21st through to Sunday, April 24th. The bazaar also included the traditional Ladies Luncheon and Fashion Show hosted by Lian Fanjul de Azqueta featuring the unique designs by holse.e. At the end of the Sugar golf tournament, players, guests, and winners celebrated with a dinner-dance party at the La Romana Country Club. Photos of this celebration coming soon.

37th Sugar Golf Tournament winners

Jaime Niven Cup Winners         Juan Carlos Mas & David Sierra Low Gross Men Winners           Federico Mendoza Behrens & Juan Lorenzo Mendoza Ladies Gross Winners            Crista Ryan & Maria Jose Oliva Ladies Net Winners              Mignon Bellini & Sarah Dunn   
Below a gallery of photos taken by Laura Perdomo on Friday, April 22nd on the La Romana Country Club golf course: